CELEBRATIONS were in order as pupils received honours at the Woodroffe School Senior Awards Ceremony.

Hundreds of pupils in Years 10 and 11 and the sixth form were recognised for their efforts and achievements in and out of the classroom at the presentation night.

Students were praised and received prizes for their educational and sporting successes as well as for service to the school, arts and drama.

Student Jonathan Davies was among those singled out when he scooped the Lyme Regis News Award for Creative and Media Excellence.

Jonathan suffers from OCD but knows he wants to work in the NHS supporting others with physical and mental health issues.

He also volunteers for various projects in the local area including a mental health charity called The Project – a group which provides peer support to young people with emotional difficulties.

James Thomas, head of sixth form at Woodroffe, said Jonathan’s progress at the school has been highlighted by the number of awards he has received during his time studying there.

The Woodroffe School, situated in Lyme Regis and looking out across the Lym Valley, has an intake of around 1,000 students, with approximately 200 in sixth form.

Woodroffe has close links with the town and has been an important part of the community for over 70 years.

Principal Dr Richard Steward said the awards ceremonies are always fantastic opportunities to celebrate the achievements of the students.

Students, including the school jazz band, played at the ceremony and the chairman of governors Peter Fortnam was among those to present the prizes to the students.

Students regularly participate in community events in the town.

Sixth formers undertake community service in a range of schools and residential homes, CCF Cadets support the Lyme Regis Remembrance Day Parade and musical groups are involved in concerts and other local events. Members of the community are also encouraged to visit the school to contribute to assemblies and a range of curricular activities.

Dr Richard Steward added: “Senior Awards evening celebrates the hard work and determination of our upper school students.

“Once again staff were spoiled for choice of outstanding nominees and we congratulate the worthy winners.”

The school’s roll of honour:

Year 10 prizewinners: Michael Bartram, Ollie Binion, Tara Byrne, George Chantler, Alaina Cockerell, Harry Coutts, Rhys Davies, Gemma Davis, Robyn Doble, Leila English, Harry Felgate, Verity Fuller, Kate Gay, Frieda Hall Hickman, Georgina Harvey, Isabel Helston, Alexander Hill, Hope Horsfield, Jasmine Hussey, Jemima Iveson, Lindsey Johnson, Emily Jones, Aaron Larcombe, Carrie Lewis, Matilda Lloyd, James Murray, Samantha Nichol, Abigail O’Leary, Edward Parsons, Imogen Payne, Jasmine Pearce, Bronwyn Powell, Chloe Pritchard, Laurie Quincey, Mathew Rattenbury, Iain Ross, Susan Ross, Martha Royce, Ari Saltmarsh, Bethany Seed, Charles Simpson, Buster Tutcher, Gemma Tyte, Joseph Urquhart, Eve Waspe, Tyler Wellman, Star Westendorp, James Weston, Georgia Whitehead and Lily Whitehead

Year 10 Sports Excellence Award: Flo Swan and Tyler Wellman

Highly commended: Lydia Brooking, Isabella Brown, Madelaine Davies, Lily Davis-Griffiths, Harry Day, Stephen De Bank, Matthew Denton, Brandon Doble, Alexander Jones, Callum Leah, Jade Legg, Philip Lyes, Rosa Parkin, Pollyanna Pinhey, Jamie Pullinger, Jack Ratcliff, Amy Richards, Mia Rose, Jacob Sargent and Elizabeth Wright

100 per cent attendance: Isla Byrne, Alaina Cockerell, Aaron Daniels, Matthew Denton, Robyn Doble, Barnaby Down, Harry Felgate, Kate Gay, Chloe Harris, Frank Harris, Ella Harvey, Georgie Harwood, Hope Horsfield, Lindsey Johnson, James Knapp, Aaron Larcombe, Carrie Lewis, James Murray, Samantha Nichol, Oliver Pennington, Florence Swan, Phoebe Voysey, Holly Weare and Lucy West

Year 11 prizewinners: Noah Andrews, Annabelle Arnold, Megan Bailey, Alfie Bellworthy, Hannah Bramley, Harvey Causley, Jessica Caute, Oliver Cole, Jake Collier, Maisie Dascombe, Emily David, Louise Dowding, Harry Eastwood, Amalia Fahle-Clouts, Megan Farenden, Findlay Fuller, Sian Gadsden, Katie Gliddon, Nathan Gutteridge, Cicely Halkes-Wellstead, Holly Harwood, Jean Hayman, Hester Heeler-Frood, Thomas Hills, Rosalind Hughes, Harry Jobson, Jessica Jordan, Imogen Killner, Eleanor Kirtley, Callum Larcombe, Roisin Linnett, Priya McNeil, Joshua Moore, Olivia Musto, Eleanor Ohlsen, Ewan Pedder, Georgia Peters, Demelza Prescott, Henry Riddle, Rosa Sawer, Molly Simpson, Savannah Studley, Elloisa Patrice Torrepalma, Felix Townsend, Phoebe Townsend, Rory Townsend, Tabitha Whittome, Joel Woodman, Joshua Yelland and Dylan Young

Year 11 Sports Excellence Award: Rosa Sawer and Kingsley Wellman

Simon Hill Award for perseverance: Harry Lovell

Highly Commended: Naomi Aves, Harry Beviss, Ruth Bonser, Charlotte Bowley, Alexander Butcher, Charles Canham, Lavinia Carr, Joseph Carter-Blundell, Jordan Chantry, Merryn Chestney, Elsie Emery, Cheyenne Farrar-Low, Sophie Farrenden, Toby Farwell, Lorena Garcia Wright, Amy Givans, Charlotte Harvey, Ciara Holway, Travis Howarth, George Hunt, Sebastian Khan, Oliver Lee, Emily Lovell, Harry Lovell, Jack Maber, James Middleton, Nicole Parkinson-Ward, Jack Parris, Fred Parsons, Thomas Powell, Hester Rees-Haughton, George Reynolds, Lewis Roberts, Jed Robertson, Lily Sibley, Mollie Simpson, Matthew Southcott, Joshua Stefan, Jane Strawbridge, Jordan Trevett, Zenobia Voegele-Downing, Finley Way, Connor Woodhouse, Sam Wooster and Seebra Young

100 per cent attendance: Alfie Bellworthy, Harry Beviss, Joseph Carter-Blundell, Harvey Causley, Jessica Caute, Matthew Chick, Findlay Fuller, Sian Gadsden, Charlotte Harvey, James Middleton, Joshua Moore, Leon Parkin, Ewan Pedder, Thomas Powell, James Souter-Phillips, Matthew Southcott, Max Trafford and Stanley White

Subject lower sixth and upper sixth: Applied Business – no lower sixth award, Christopher Boxall Art - Jamie Jeffery and Camille Riley Biology - Jake Causley and Rebecca Riddle Business & Economics - Natalie Bristol, no upper sixth award Chemistry - Frances Penrose, Tom Gater Computing - Josh Fletcher, no upper sixth award Drama - Ellie Gillan, Cleo Nester and Rachael Clarke English Language - Anne Morgan and Hannah Pullinger English Literature - Eddie Beardwood and Sophie Harbridge Environmental Studies - Emma Lewis and James Hill French - Phoebe Confrey and Eva Blore Further Maths - Frances Penrose and Tom Kiernan Geography - Emma Lewis, and Hannah Pullinger Government & Politics - Harry Robson, no upper sixth award Graphics - Thomas Paterson and Hannah Pullinger History - Eddie Beardwood and Polly Rodin History of Art - Kester Benton and Jess Morgan Leisure Studies - Astrid Heasman and Sebastian Board Maths - Ele Saltmarsh, Tom Gater, Holly Davis-Griffiths and Alexandra McStea Media Studies - Boris Halvig and Megan Vincent-Pearsall Music - Jake Causley and Naomi Garner Music Technology - Will Lister and James Dean Product Design 3D - Ben Blackmore and Jasmine Pearce Product Design Textiles - Harriette Lloyd and Jasmine Pearce PE - Mollie Hansford and James Hill Photography - Celine Davies and Tobias Howlett Physics - Frances Penrose and Alice Jenkin Psychology - Caitlin Bee and Ned Spear Spanish – no lower sixth award, Eva Blore Work Skills - Scott Rodway, no upper sixth award EPQ - Millie Deakin, no upper sixth award

Highly commended across all subjects - Shannon Allen, Pippa Anning, James Clarke, Sam Farrow, Emma Murray, Holly Vincent, Ciaran Badman, Oscar Bailey, Emily Fuller, Cristina Hilder, Ellie Pring, Hannah Simpson and Jack Videan