WEST Bay Sea Angling Club’s annual presentation night saw Steve Harwood take home the President’s Cup at Freshwater Holiday Park.

This year’s event kicked off with a game of ten-pin bowling.

Chairman Rod Barr took to the floor to announce the winners of the various cups and trophies for the 2019 season, starting with Aaron Chambers who won the Fred Bowditch Memorial Trophy and the Saturday Cup.

Top junior lady was Sophie Mather who won the Ladies’ Junior trophy and the Jurassic League trophy. The Forward Trophy for the most promising junior was presented to Daniel Mather, who also won the Jurassic League runner-up trophy.

After the club’s raffle and buffet, awards and cheques were presented to the winners of the club’s species league.

Results – Senior League: 1 Adam Cullingford 83pts; 2 Lea Windsor 74pts, 3 Steve Harwood 70pts.

Handicap League: 1 Adam Cullingford 98pts; 2 Tony Colls 84pts, 3 Gerry Reed 77pts.

Junior League: 1 Aaron Chambers 38pts; 2 Robbie Hall 27pts, 3 Daniel Mather 13pts.

Elsewhere, Steve Fowles won the Angler Trophy, Boat champions Shield, the Crispin Cup, the Daytime Cup, the Kingfisher cup and the Committee Cup.

Lea Windsor won the Rickard Cup for the highest number of fish points in Thursday night competitions and the Axminster Cup for the most points in the Thursday night events. Best junior was Faye Stephenson who won the Eric Hamblett Memorial Trophy, the Junior Cup for boats and the Churchhouse Junior Boat Plaque.

Clubman Shield for best attendee was Fowles. The President’s Cup, given to the angler who has done the most work for the club, went to Harwood.

Rod Barr read out a statement on behalf of president Dave Cornick, who due to ill health was unable to attend.

Cornick thanked club members and specifically Richard Daw for checking club rules marry with the Angling Trust, plus his work on the club handbook.

He also congratulated Harwood for his “outstanding effort” since being at the club.

Last season saw the inaugural ‘Fish of the Quarter’ event which awards a £30 Angling Centre voucher to the angler who catches the best fish of the quarter.

The top five best fish of each quarter are entered for an end-of-year draw which is then drawn at the presentation night, the winner being Lidy Carter who came third in the April to June quarter with a red gurnard weighing 1lb 1oz (121.41%).

Finally, the following three people won life membership of the club: President Dave Cornick for his work as the club’s president and fish recorder; Roger Guppy for his work as secretary and junior secretary and vice-president Richard Daw for his work as secretary, webmaster and junior section assistant.