JAMES Leighton emerged with four major trophies from West Bay Sea Angling Club’s annual presentation night at the Freshwater Holiday Park.

Leighton picked up the Rickard Cup for the highest number of fish points in Thursday night events, the Axminster Cup for best points in the Thursday night series, the Daytime Cup for the Sunday afternoon competitions and the Kingfisher Cup for all-round achievement based on a points system.

Top lady for the shore was Frances Kitchin who was presented with the Andy Neal Roving Challenge Ladies Trophy, Ladies Shore Trophy and the Pettet Cup.

Best junior in senior shore matches was Eden Lynham who won the Junior Cup (shore), Eric Hamblett Memorial Trophy and the Junior Shore Festival Cup.

On to the boat section which was a tie between Rod Barr and Mike Hansell who won three trophies each.

Hansell won the Conservation Trophy (Boat), the Conger Trophy (Boat) and the Stephenson Trophy while Barr won the Boat Champions Shield, the Bridport News Cup and the Chard Bream Trophy.

The best junior lady on the boats was Faith Barr who won the Ladies’ Specimen Trophy.

Then the awards and cheques were presented to the winners of the club’s species league.

Results: Senior League: 1 Steve Harwood 60pts (won on tie-break), 2 Steve Fowles 60, 3 James Leighton 59. Ladies’ champion: Frances Kitchin 14.

Handicap League: 1 Steve Harwood 92, 2 Steve Fowles 89, 3 James Leighton 88.

Junior League: First and match points champion Eden Lynham 100 & 144pts, 2 Robbie Hall 97 (won on tie-break), 3 Aaron Chambers 97.

This year’s event kicked off with a game of ten-pin bowling, followed by a wonderful buffet.

The club’s shore secretary Steve Fowles announced the Saturday Junior Trophies as Eden Lynham while the Forward Trophy, for most promising junior, was presented to Robbie Hall.

The member who won the most trophies for the year was Ian Draper who won the Conservation Cup (Shore), Lyme Bay Marine Mullet Trophy, the David Cornick Trophy, the Peter Payne Memorial Trophy, the Specimen Trophy and the Ball Cup.

The Presentation ended with two awards that are highly valued by club members.

Firstly, the Clubman Shield, which goes to the member who has best supported club events throughout the year, was received by Tony Colls.

The Presidents Cup is presented to the member who the incumbent president considers has done the most work for the club. This year’s worthy winner was Fowles who came in halfway through last year when the previous shore secretary resigned.