FRANK Smith won the Mary Poole Memorial Cup at the Beaminster and District Knockout Tournament after emerging victorious in the final against Mike Wheeler.

The match went right to the wire as Wheeler had initially taken the lead early on.

Smith, from the Beaminster Beagles, took the advantage in the ninth of 10 ends in the final after being level at 5-5 from eight ends.

His three-pointer in the ninth gave him an 8-5 lead and three more on the final end handed him an 11-5 victory.

In getting to the final Smith had convincing wins over Roger Dobbs, Jane Allen and Peter Higginson as he also made it to the semi-finals of the pairs competition with partner Ann Loose.

Wheeler also lost the final last year to Phil Catton, another Beaminster Beagles player.

The pairs competition provided a great victory for Netherbury's Mel Ricketts and Heather Dixon, the latter having taken up the sport just a few months ago.

The pair beat three more experienced duos on their way to the final where they had a shock 11-7 victory over Toller's formidable partnership of Geoff Hansen and Roger Dobbs.