ALL of Bridport Town Council’s seats are being contested in the May 2 election – unlike some other councils of similar size.

None of the wards are being contested by the Conservatives although several independents and one candidate with no listed designation are amongst the election hopefuls challenging the Liberal Democrat dominance of the town council.

Many of the existing town councillors are standing again although boundary changes which came into being this month will be in place for the first time in an election.

The full list of town council candidates are –

Bothenhampton & Walditch (3 seats) – Bridget Bolwell Lib Dem; Isabe;l Bourne Green; Elisabeth Brigden Labour; Andrew Holdridge Lib Dem; Anne Rickard Lib Dem.

Bradpole (5) – Nigel Amor Lib Dem; Ian Bark Lib Dem; Robert Casey Green; Neil Chilcott no designation; Anna Killick Labour; Paddy Mooney Lib Dem.

Central (5) – Steve Chapman Labour; Kelvin Clayton Green; Alani Cook Independent Young Person; Josef Davies-Coates Independent United Diversity Bridport; David Hart Labour; Nigel Rawlings Lib Dem; Dave Rickard Lib Dem; Sarah Williams Lib Dem; David Worthington Lib Dem.

West and Allington (5) – Jonathan Bourbon Lib Dem; Sarah Carney Independent; Michael Dommett Lib Dem; Neil Hammond Labour; Julian Jones Green; Richard Nicholls Labour; Bev Thornton Lib Dem; Steve Williams Lib Dem.

West Bay (2) – Dave Bolwell Lib Dem; Richard Edwards Green; Ann Langridge Lib Dem.