BRIDPORT Bowls Club dished out a plethora of trophies at their annual club championships, bathed in good weather.

In the championship singles events, both the men’s and ladies’ games followed similar patterns – very close until the last few ends before the ultimate winners pulled away.

Chris Thorne overcame Brian Medland 21-14 and first-time champion Cheryl Mackenzie defeated Pamela Daters 21-17.

The two-wood finals saw a comfortable victory for Mike Solomon over Peter Scott 15-11, Pamela Daters dominated Fran Morgan 17-6.

The men’s championship pairs final produced new winners when Steve Crimp and Keith Bourne pulled away in the second half of their game against Eric Link and Peter Carnell to eventually win 22-10.

The equivalent ladies’ title game saw Pamela Daters and Laura Taylor take an early lead before convincingly defeating Margaret Strange and Jean Seadon 24-10.

In one of the games of the weekend, Marion Carter and Ben Jones had a thrilling 14-12 win over Pamela Daters and Chris Thorne in the championship mixed pairs event. The standard of bowling was very high in a contest that was nip and tuck throughout.

The handicap singles titles went to Solomon who beat Brian Medland and, in a cliff-hanger, Fran Morgan who just pipped Mackenzie. Both were lengthy games with the winners finishing strongly to close out their games.

New names adorn the trophy for the men’s drawn pairs as Malcolm Mackenzie and Neil Kennedy overcame Brian Stone and Paul Tibble 19-11 in an entertaining final.

The ladies’ drawn pairs saw yet another appearance in a final for Daters. She and her partner Seadon started well but their opponents Cheryl Mackenzie and Ali Tibble clawed their way back to finally edge home 14-13.

Neil Kennedy and Malcolm Mackenzie also contested another final but this time against each other in the men’s Junior Cup – Kennedy emerging victorious 22-12.

The ladies' Junior Cup was won convincingly by an inspired Dawn Greenfield over Fran Morgan by 21-11.

In the men’s drawn triples final, Bill Duthie-Jones, Eric Link and Brian Conisbee all played extremely well to dominate their match against Steve Crimp, Peter Scott and Mike Solomon – winning 18-6.

The ladies’ title was awarded to Pamela Daters, Liz Kennedy and Delphine Street on a walkover.

Finally, Mike Solomon retained his single sets trophy beating Jim Greenfield in two competitive sets.