THE Coronavirus Act has been extended for another six months after a vote by MPs. 

Created in response to the pandemic in March 2020, the Act is a piece of legislation that allows the Government to introduce restrictions such as lockdowns, regional tier system, as well as supportive measures such as furlough scheme, grants and income support. 

The temporary measures within the Coronavirus Act are required to be reviewed and renewed by a vote by MPs every six months.

Parliament held a debate ahead of the vote, with MPs accepting there was no alternative to approving the extension, while one Tory MP was concerned that the Government is “moving the goalposts” when it comes to lifting restrictions. 

MPs voted 484 to 76, with a majority of 408, to extend coronavirus laws for a further six months. 

The vote, which was largely expected to be passed by MPs, means Covid rules will be enforced for another six months. 

It does not however mean lockdown restrictions will be extended until October.

The Government has previously said that keeping the Coronavirus Act in force means that Covid-related schemes, such as furlough, can legally continue.

The extension would also allow regulations for the route out of lockdown and keep some of the emergency powers in the Coronavirus Act in place for another six months.

Tobia Ellwood (Bournemouth East), Conor Burns (Bournemouth West), Simon Hoare (North Dorset), Michael Tomlinson (Mid Dorset and North Poole), and Chris Loder (West Dorset) all voted for the extension. 

Robert Syms (Poole), Richard Drax (South Dorset) and Christopher Chope (Christchurch) all voted against the extension.

35 Conservative MPs voted against the government. Here is the full list.

They were:

  • Adam Afriyie (Windsor)
  • Steve Baker (Wycombe)
  • Harriett Baldwin (West Worcestershire)
  • Bob Blackman (Harrow East)
  • Peter Bone (Wellingborough)
  • Graham Brady (Altrincham and Sale West)
  • Christopher Chope (Christchurch)
  • Geoffrey Clifton-Brown (The Cotswolds)
  • Philip Davies (Shipley)
  • David Davis (Haltemprice and Howden)
  • Jonathan Djanogly (Huntingdon)
  • Richard Drax (South Dorset)
  • Mark Francois (Rayleigh and Wickford)
  • Marcus Fysh (Yeovil)
  • Mark Harper (Forest of Dean)
  • Philip Hollobone (Kettering)
  • David Jones (Clwyd West)
  • Pauline Latham (Mid Derbyshire)
  • Jonathan Lord (Woking)
  • Tim Loughton (East Worthing and Shoreham)
  • Craig Mackinlay (South Thanet)
  • Karl McCartney (Lincoln)
  • Stephen McPartland (Stevenage)
  • Esther McVey (Tatton)
  • Anne Marie Morris (Newton Abbot)
  • John Redwood (Wokingham)
  • Andrew Rosindell (Romford)
  • Henry Smith (Crawley)
  • Julian Sturdy (York Outer)
  • Desmond Swayne (New Forest West)
  • Robert Syms (Poole)
  • Craig Tracey (North Warwickshire)
  • Charles Walker (Broxbourne)
  • David Warburton (Somerton and Frome
  • William Wragg (Hazel Grove)