VINEYARDS in Dorset are celebrating success in the Wine GB awards.

Showcasing one of the world’s most exciting wine regions, the calibre of judges and competition partners make the WineGB Awards the major competition for Great Britain’s wines and wine producers.

Some 245 medals were awarded, of which 34 were gold, 98 silver and 113 bronze. The Wessex region (Hampshire, Dorset, Wiltshire) gained 30 medals.

The judging took place last month in exceptional conditions with the judging panel comprising co-chairmen TV wine experts Susie Barrie MW and Oz Clarke MBE, and Rebecca Palmer, wine buyer for leading independent wine merchants Corney & Barrow, tasting through a record number of wines.

Scooping a gold award for its Blanc de Blancs 2015 Corallian NV was the Langham Estate near Dorchester.

And celebrating silver medals for no less than five wines was Litton Cheney-based Bride Valley Vineyard for its Blanc de Blancs 2017, Pinot Noir 2018, Rosé Bella 2016, Dorset Crémant NV and Dorset Chardonnay 2018.

Langham also celebrated a silver medal for its Rosé NV and Langham Culver NV.

Lyme Bay Winery, at Axminster, was awarded two silvers for its Classic Cuvée 2016 and Sparkling Rosé NV.

In the bronze medal category, Bride Valley won for its Dorset Pinot Noir Rosé 2019 and Brut Reserve 2017 and Lyme Bay Winery won for its Bacchus Block 2018 and Chardonnay 2018.

The results show that Sparkling Wine remains the dominant category in Gold and Silver Medals, but successes for still wines are on the increase. When it comes to grape varieties, Pinot Noir, Chardonnay and Bacchus dominate the still wine category featuring in all the Gold Medal winning still wines, with Chardonnay being the most popular grape variety for Britain’s Traditional Method Sparkling wines.

Susie Barrie said: “This year of all years it has been a competition to remember. We cannot overlook the extraordinary circumstances in which we judged and I’d like to thank every single person involved in ensuring the week ran smoothly."

The trophy winners, including the crowning of the Supreme Champion will be announced at a special filmed Virtual Ceremony on Tuesday, September 8 at midday, with awards being presented by Susie Barrie and Oz Clarke, with author and presenter Peter Richards MW as master of ceremonies.