THE tracklist of the soundtrack to the highly-anticipated feature film, Downton Abbey, has been announced.

Composed by John Lunn, the score is similar in style to the Emmy Award-winning music from the television series, with the familiar title theme appearing throughout the album and upbeat jazz arrangements featuring alongside lavish waltzes.

Downton Abbey, created by Julian Fellowes of West Stafford, was first aired on ITV in September 2010, and has since enjoyed six critically acclaimed seasons. Its adaptation for the big screen is based on a script by the local writer, and features original cast members including Hugh Bonneville, Elizabeth McGovern and Dame Maggie Smith. They will star with newcomers such as Imelda Staunton, David Haig and Geraldine James. The story picks up in the autumn of 1927, where Lord and Lady Grantham and the extended Crawley family are preparing for a visit from the reigning King George V.

Scottish composer John Lunn received two Primetime Emmy Awards for his music for Downton Abbey, and two BAFTA nominations in 2012 and 2016. He has also worked on productions such as ITV's Grantchester, BBC's Shetland and Sky's Jamestown, and received critical acclaim for his work on BBC adaptations of Charles Dickens.

John said: “I was delighted to be approached to create the feature length film score to a series which has had a huge impact on audiences and fans all over the world. At first it was like discovering a long-lost friend, but gradually I realised that we’d never really been apart; by the end it was just such a joy to revisit this material and have the opportunity to take it to a whole new level.”

The soundtrack will be released by Decca Records/Decca Gold, an iconic British label celebrating its 90th anniversary this year, having been formed in 1929. The album will available digitally, on CD and on vinyl on Friday, September 13, the same day as the film is released in UK cinemas.