SUNDAY was a beautiful day for the men’s March Medal, writes Peter Crowter.

Fifty-seven men took part in the pleasant conditions and maybe the nine who didn’t finish had to get back in good time to have lunch with their mums on Mothering Sunday.

The lowest nett score came from Division Three where Robert Smith’s nett score of 64 was four shots clear of his nearest rival on the course. This score earned him a two-shot handicap reduction.

Marc Harwood won Division One with a card of 68 while Martin Horton took Division Two with a nett 71.


Division One: 1 Marc Harwood (79-11=68), 2 (acb) Gary Edwardes (79-8=71), 3 Steve Crabb (77-6=71).

Division Two: 1 Martin Horton (84-13=71), 2 (acb) Jon Legg-Bagg (86-13=73), 3 Geoff Joy (91-18=73).

Division Three: 1 Robert Smith (87-23=64), 2 Don McAllister (88-19=69), 3 Ian Pincombe (97-26=71).


FORTY-THREE members turned out last Thursday in unpleasant conditions for a self-entry, single division Stableford.

The weather was cold and there were no outstanding scores as the top five prize-winners all carded 35 points or more.

The top three in fact, all scored 36 points and, after count-

back, Jimmy Gbadebo (12) led the field with Graham Topp (23) second and Bryan Holmes (17) in third.

Fourth place was taken by Richard Parry (19) after countback with 35 points and fifth was Dougie Howells (20).

Bridport veterans lost their home match against Cricket St Thomas 2½-3½.

The away day was at Tiverton where in overcast conditions they played a Stableford competition.

Tony Burt took the honours with a score of 39 points and Dave Cook won the nearest the pin prize.


TUESDAY and Saturday saw teams of three playing a Texas scramble with a difference, whoever’s shot was taken couldn’t not play the next one, writes Di Neal.

Saturday’s winners were Liz Thompson, Carole Hedley and Liz Walker with 78.7, the runners-up with 81.4 were Carole Brown,

Sally Woolmington and Anne Follett.

The winners on Tuesday were Nicky Stone, Sandra March and Helen Campbell with a score of 73.9 having not recorded any more than six shots on any hole.

Second prize went to Wendy Newton, Maureen Hicks and Toshiko Ricketts with 84.6. The last of the Tuesday prize winners were Carole Brown, Janie Dowling and Carrol Horne (85-7).