WEST Bay Sea Angling Club held their annual presentation at the Jurassic Fun Centre, Freshwater Holiday Park.

The evening kicked off with a game of ten-pin bowling, followed by a buffet and a raffle before chairperson Rod Barr began the prizegiving ceremony on the night.

Paul House was the big winner on the night, winning a total of 12 trophies.

They included three of the major leagues; the Rickard Cup and Axminster Cup for best weight and points in the Thursday night series, the Andy Neal Roving Challenge for winning the Saturday night rovers and the Daytime Cup for the Sunday afternoon competitions,

Lynn Mudford picked up the Andy Neal Roving Challenge Ladies’ Trophy and the Ladies’ Shore Cup, while the best junior in senior shore matches was Eden Lynham, who won both the Junior Cup and the Jake Neal Roving Challenge.

In the boat section, Gerry Reed not only won the Symes Cup, but the Boat Champions Shield and the Boat Trophy with his boat Fierin Scor, while Charlie Lawson won the Junior Boat Festival Cup, Junior Cup and the Churchouse Boat Plaque for best junior in boat matches.

After a number of other trophies and awards were handed out, the presentation ended with the prestigious Clubman Shield and the President Cup.

The Clubman Shield went to House, who was rewarded for being the member who had best supported club events throughout the year, while the President’s Cup was awarded to Richard “Tiny” Daw, who was recognised by the incumbent president for doing the most work for the club.


Senior League: 1 Paul House 132pts, 2 Ollie Mears 108pts, 3 Simon Bowditch 100pts, Match points champion: Paul House 70pts

Lady Champion: Frances Kitchin 33pts

Junior Champion: Eden Lynham 17 pts.

Handicap League: 1 Ken Martin 80pts, 2 Steve Fowles 65pts, 3 Adam Cullingford 60 pts.

Junior League: 1 (and match points champion) Aaron Chambers 102 pts & 72 pts, 2 Jack Parkman 96pts, 3 Ewan Chambers 81pts.