BRIDPORT’S Blue side were beaten 34-23 in the Edna Paisley Triples League.

The rink of Jan Tatter-shall, Janet Bird and Joan Smith fell 15-12, while Dinah Wilson, Marion Tocher and Mary Marsh lost 19-11.

Meanwhile, the Red side won 36-25 over Weymouth & Melcombe Regis.

Mary Eastman, Pauline Newitt and Jill Harding triumphed 18-11 and Chris Minas, Sue Fox and Pam Gray earned an 18-14 victory. However, the Reds lost to Greenhill 40-28 with Mary Corfield, M Eastman, and J Harding beaten 16-14, while Minas, Fox and Gray fell 24-14.

In the men’s Dorset League Division Two, Bridport B enjoyed a fine 65-40 success over Sherborne.

The winning rinks were Mel Griffiths, Brian Pratt, Alan Skelton and Neil Kennedy (22-11), Alan Cowdrey, Michael Higman, Dave Hocking and Roger Herbert (23-14), and Max Dare, Norman Lud-ders, B Parker and Peter Carnell (20-13).

In Division Two, the C side were unlucky to lose 58-53.

Alan Cowdrey, Michael Higman, B Stone and Dave Smith won 26-15 while Peter Carnell, Roger Herbert, Mel Griffiths and N Kennedy lost out 18-17. Finally, Dave Robbins, Dan Hoskins, Brian Pratt and Max Dare crashed to a 25-10 defeat.

Bridport Ladies beat Portland Victoria 19-5 in the South Dorset League, while the men crushed Weymouth & Melcombe Regis 76-38 in Divsion One.

The victory was headed by Chris Thorne, Paul Tibble, Fred Pomeroy and Roy Lidington (39-10), with Bill Payne, Brian Iverson, John Carter and Ben Jone triumphing 23-14 and Brian Rumble Bob Taylor, Dave Roberts and Craig Bosher winning 19-14.

The B side also had a good 72-52 success over Portland Victoria.

Derek Hoskins, John Ireland, Bob Seadon and Sam Dunn won 29-12. Also winning were Ken Sanger, Peter Scott, Steve Bartlett and Ian Newitt (20-19).

Clive Langdon, Mike Smith, David Eastman and Chris Taylor pulled off a fine victory, despite being 13-7 down after 14 ends. They recovered by scoring two fives and a six to finished 23-21 victors.

* In a men’s friendly, Bridport lost 77-39.

* The president’s day saw the new visitors’ changing room being opened by dignitaries from the council. This has been dedicated to Arthur Siddons and Albert Gale, two long-serving members and greenkeepers.